Three new Caribbean jurisdictions: Curaçao, St. Maarten and the BES Islands


George Moore

Three new Caribbean jurisdictions recently joined the world of IP practice: Curaçao, St. Maarten and the BES Islands—all emerging in the wake of the Netherlands Antilles, which was dissolved on October 10, 2010.

Echoing Aruba’s breakaway from the Netherlands Antilles in 1986, Curaçao, St. Maarten, and the BES Islands were constituted as separate jurisdictions—all with provisions for the establishment of intellectual property rights.

Trademark registrations in the Netherlands Antilles were nullified while, simultaneously, all marks registered there were deemed automatically continued for the duration of their terms in both Curaçao and St. Maarten.

On the other hand, in the BES Islands, which consist of Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba, Netherlands Antilles registrations can be confi rmed and deemed continued in the BES, for the duration of their terms, provided applications for confi rmation are fi led before October 10, 2011.

Trademark, Caribbean, BOIP, Caribbean Trademark Services