Articles

Filter articles

Showing 1 to 10 of 1648 results

Copyright and Brexit: what lies ahead

UK20-12-2016Guy Wilmot

Brexit’s impact on copyright law may take several different shapes, and is likely to depend on the type of deal the UK government strikes with the EU, says Guy Wilmot of Russell-Cooke.

Can the UK stay in the UPC post-Brexit?

EU, EU - PATENTS, UK14-12-2016Lorna Brazell

Despite the UK government’s surprise announcement that it will ratify the Unified Patent Court Agreement, there is still a big question mark over whether the UK can stay in the system after leaving the EU. Lorna Brazell of Osborne Clarke reports.

Best practices for IPR proceedings and real party in interest

US06-12-2016Amanda Tessar, Bing Ai and Elizabeth Banzhoff

There are a handful of pointers for anyone affected by real party in interest issues in inter partes reviews, as Amanda Tessar, Bing Ai and Elizabeth Banzhoff of Perkins Coie explain in the second part of their article.

From the TPP to oppositions: major changes for IP

Mexico24-11-2016

A number of major IP-related developments are affecting Mexico, from the Trans-Pacific Partnership to the trademark opposition system. WIPR assesses what these changes mean for rights owners.

Four years of IPR: how life sciences companies have fared

US23-11-2016

Introduced in September 2012, the inter partes review provided a new forum for challenging the validity of US patents, and soon attracted criticism. WIPR investigates how life sciences companies have fared in the forum’s first four years.

IP office interview: Protecting ‘Swissness’

Switzerland23-11-2016

The Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property is due to enact a number of important legislative changes in 2017 and is committed to fighting counterfeit goods. WIPR spoke to its director general Catherine Chammartin about life at the office.

An overhaul of IP rights

EU22-11-2016

In 2016 the European Council approved a new trade secrets directive, while the European Commission made a number of proposals to modernise copyright law, as WIPR reports.

Greener pastures for US patents

EU, EU - PATENTS, UK, US22-11-2016

Will Brexit force US patent owners to shun the UK and seek protection in other countries and, if yes, who would take its place? WIPR investigates.

News Analysis: Beer’s got the trademark blues

UK21-11-2016

In October, beer producer BrewDog went public with an IP complaint filed by Elvis Presley’s estate, and its owners even legally changed their names to incorporate ‘Elvis’. Was this a smart move, and should it be replicated by others? WIPR investigates.

US president special: it’s Trump’s choice for the Supreme Court

US21-11-2016

Donald Trump, the shock winner in the US presidential election, must appoint a ninth justice at the Supreme Court, currently split between four Democrat and four Republican-nominated judges. WIPR looks at the possible contenders and resulting impact on IP.

Showing 1 to 10 of 1648 results

Directory

Service Providers

Park IP Translations
Park IP is your trusted partner for legal language solutions

RWS inovia
IP Translations, Patent Filing, Patent Search Services

SMD Group
Trademark Research Tools & Watching Services, Cost & Control Management, Searching & Prior Art, Trademark & IP Management Software

bNamed.net
At bNamed.net we feel that protecting your brand online shouldn't cost you an arm and a leg.

Brandstock
Germany

WIPR